CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS — International Digital Pinhole Photography Exhibition (3rd edition)

photo: André Paquin        



Deadline for submissions to be received: Monday, August 6, 2018
The exhibition will take place at Le Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle
At 67 Beechwood Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
From September 21 to October 23, 2018
The opening reception will take place Thursday, September 27, at 5 p.m.

Les corps éblouis (The Dazzled Elements)
Capturing a scene with pinhole photography is a bit like taking ownership of an ephemeral meeting of a place and a time; it abides by, so to speak, the very essence of photography. It is a return to the fundamental image, that which forms by itself, without human intervention.

I have imagined since a long time that in the depths of a cave, a picture of the sun-drenched space in front of its entrance develops. This reversed image slowly imprints itself on the back wall, hidden from sight.

This is what inspires us for this third round of the International Digital Pinhole Exhibition: bringing us back to the roots of the medium, to the era when the first images formed without lenses, in black and white.

The theme Les corps éblouis (The Dazzled Elements) is of course about this piece of nature captured, but also the resulting image, and the subsequent viewing of it. In order for there to be bedazzlement, it is important that light hits an object so as to be perceived by the observer, who is in his turn dazzled.

The dazzled elements, in shades of grey: this is the challenge!

The idea behind the project is to use an old process, the pinhole camera,
adapted to modern technology – an interchangeable lens digital camera. (All one needs do is take off the lens and replace it with a piece of blackened cardboard, or the body cap, with a small hole pierced in it.)

Today’s technology allows the piercing of holes so small and so perfectly round that astronomers, to obtain an ever more precise image of the universe, are once again using pinhole photography in their research.

The opening called a pinhole, is nothing, after all, but a hole. This orifice lets the light rays through without focusing the light, therefore without distortion nor aberration. We take a photo without a lens, but it is the photo that takes us. Chance looms, and is captured without us knowing it.

The images thus formed by light travelling in a straight line and by the inexorable passage of time, are intrinsic carriers of nebulous truths. And this noticeable blurriness in a pinhole photograph is actually the imprecision of the process which continuously captures luminous reflections.

Modern cameras, with their high-performance lens, functioning in thousandths of seconds and with the help of a thousand foveas, perhaps give too much to see. Let us be caught up in the mystery in which a pinhole image lets us soar.

When a simple cardboard box lets us confine light to create a faithful and durable image of an ephemeral reality, artists find again the spirit that animated the pioneers.

— André Paquin, Curator

The entries must include:

  • Curriculum vitae (maximum 3 pages)
  • Artist’s statement (150 words) on the theme Le corps éblouis (The Dazzled Bodies). For more information, visit www.voixvisuelle.ca
  • A maximum of 10 images in JPEG format (300PPI, 8.5” x 11” minimum)
  • Each image file must be titled with a number, the name of the artist, and the title of the piece
  • Detailed list of the visual documentation (numbers, titles, and annotations)
  • Each JPEG file must show, in its file properties, the following information about the image capture:
    • Date of image capture
    • Camera model
    • Exposure time
    • ISO setting
    • Focal length (i.e., f0 or f-)

PLEASE SEND YOUR ENTRY BY EMAIL TO:

[email protected]

The entries will be evaluated by André Paquin, and the chosen pieces will be printed by Voix Visuelle.

Comments are closed.

APPEL AUX ARTISTES — Exposition internationale du sténopé numérique (3e édition)

photo : André Paquin        



Date de tombée pour recevoir les dossiers : le lundi 6 août 2018
L’exposition se tiendra au Centre d’artistes Voix Visuelle
Au 67 Avenue Beechwood, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Du 21 septembre au 23 octobre 2018
Le vernissage aura lieu le jeudi 27 septembre à 17 h

Les corps éblouis
Capter une scène au sténopé, c’est un peu s’approprier cette rencontre éphémère d’un lieu et d’un temps, respecter en quelque sorte l’essence même de la photographie. Il s’agit d’un retour à l’image fondamentale, celle qui se forme d’elle-même, sans intervention humaine.

Depuis longtemps, il m’arrive d’imaginer qu’au fond d’une caverne, s’est forgée une représentation de l’espace arrosé de soleil, face à son entrée. Cette scène s’est inversée, s’imprimant lentement sur la paroi du fond, à l’abri des regards.

Voilà ce qui nous inspire pour ce troisième volet de l’Expo internationale du sténopé numérique : nous ramener aux sources du médium, à l’époque où les premières images se formaient sans lentilles, en noir et blanc.

Le thème Les corps éblouis concerne bien sûr ce morceau de nature capté mais aussi l’image qui en résulte et le regard qu’on va lui porter. Pour qu’il y ait éblouissement, il importe que la lumière frappe un objet afin d’être ressenti par l’observateur, à son tour ébloui.

Les corps éblouis, en nuances de gris, voilà le défi!

L’idée à la source du projet est d’utiliser un processus ancien, le sténopé, de l’adapter à la technologie moderne en se servant d’un appareil numérique à objectif interchangeable (il suffit d’enlever l’objectif et de le remplacer par un carton noir ou par le bouchon du boîtier, percé d’un petit trou).

La technologie actuelle permet de percer des trous si petits et si parfaitement ronds que les astronomes, pour obtenir une image encore plus précise de l’Univers, se servent à nouveau du sténopé dans leurs recherches.

L’ouverture appelée précisément sténopé n’est, somme toute, qu’un trou! Cet orifice laisse passer les rayons de lumière sans la focaliser, donc sans distorsion ni aberration. Nous prenons une photo sans objectif mais c’est la photo qui nous prend. Le hasard se dresse, capté à notre insu.

Les images ainsi formées par la lumière voyageant en ligne droite et par le temps qui passe inexorablement, sont par essence porteuses de vérités nébuleuses. Et ce flou apparent dans une photographie au sténopé est en réalité l’imprécision du procédé qui saisit les réflexions lumineuses en continu.

Les appareils modernes et leurs objectifs ultra performants, fonctionnant en millièmes de seconde et à l’aide de mille fovéas, donnent peut-être trop à voir. Laissons-nous happer par ce mystère qu’une image au sténopé laisse planer.

Quand une simple boîte de carton permet d’enfermer la lumière pour créer l’image fidèle et durable d’une réalité éphémère, l’artiste retrouve cet esprit qui animait les pionniers.

— André Paquin, Commissaire

Les dossiers doivent inclure :

  • Curriculum vitae (maximum 3 pages)
  • Texte de démarche artistique (150 mots) sur le thème Le corps éblouis
  • Maximum 10 images en format JPEG (300 PPI, minimum 8,5 po x 11 po)
  • Chaque fichier d’image doit avoir un numéro, le nom de l’artiste et le titre de l’œuvre
  • Liste détaillée de la documentation visuelle (numéros, titres et annotations)
  • Chaque fichier JPEG doit laisser voir dans ses propriétés, les informations suivantes, relatives à la prise de vue :
    • Date de la prise de vue;
    • Modèle d’appareil photo;
    • Temps d’exposition;
    • Sensibilité ISO;
    • Longueur focale (soit f0 ou f-)

VEUILLEZ FAIRE PARVENIR VOTRE DEMANDE PAR COURRIEL À :

[email protected]

Les dossiers seront évalués par André Paquin et les œuvres choisies seront imprimées par Voix Visuelle.

Les commentaires sont fermés.